OUR COMPANY PROFILE

LT McGuinness was established by Lawrence T McGuinness in 1950.

Since then we have been involved in the construction, refurbishment and fit-out of many leading Wellington buildings.

We are one of the capital’s largest privately-owned construction companies, with a talented and dedicated staff. LT McGuinness operates like a family, but has the resources of a major company.

We work on all types and sizes of projects, ranging in value from $50,000 to over $150 million. We are proud of our record of delivering all our major projects on time. Our approach is direct, honest and respectful.

We have worked on many challenging projects – from
complex heritage restorations to the highest quality office
fit-outs for national and international clients.


OUR HISTORY

This mural opposite LT McGuinness’s offices in Francis Place, Te Aro, Wellington, celebrates the company’s origins 70 years ago.

The mural’s top half features a 1961 photo of Laurie (centre), flanked by Brian (right), one of his sons, and apprentice Dave Spiers. The photo was taken on the same spot where the mural covers a huge concrete wall.

Bottom left features brothers Peter, Brian and Jim McGuinness at a site shout in 1986. Bottom right features a 1980s composite photo of four staff members with over 30 years’ service: Nick Tuilaepa, Dion Russell, John Malthus and Chris Guile.

Laurie set up his joinery shop in the 1950s in Tui Street, which adjoined Francis Place. The workshop is shown in the black and white photo, top left of this page. Although Tui Street, its factories and workshops have long gone, the mural preserves a slice of the area’s rich history.